As of January 28, 2005, pre-marital blood work is no longer a Massachusetts requirement.
To apply for a marriage license (file intentions) both parties must appear together in person at the Town Clerk’s office. Filing cannot be done on-line or through the mail. Massachusetts law requires that you be 18 years of age or older to marry. If you are not, a court order is required to do so.
The fee for filing is $20. Copies of your marriage license can be obtained through the clerk’s office for $5. This request may be made at the time of filing or at a later date as needed. There is a 3-day waiting period not including the day of filing before the marriage license can be issued. The filing is valid for 60 days from the date that you file.
If an out-of-state member of the clergy is to perform the marriage please contact the Division of Public Records, Secretary of the Commonwealth @617-727-2836.
If a non-minister or non-justice of the peace (such as a relative or friend) is planning to perform the marriage you need to obtain one-time only permission from the Office of the Governor, attn: Appointments Office @617-725-4080, ext 35339. You can also download information and an application form here:
For further information please call the Town Clerk’s office at 413-229-7000, ext 151 or visit the Secretary of State's website.